Marvel/DC Comics - anyone read? Any recommendations?

Master_Craig

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Hey guys. So I've finally started to buy comics, mostly DC comics like Batman, Red Robin etc.

To make matters worse, I've downloaded an app on my iPhone where I can buy/download more comics.

Does anyone here read comics? Any recommendations? I'm a big fan of DC stuff, but I'm not a fan of what I think are "bad" drawings. As dumb as it sounds, if I don't like the drawings, I won't enjoy the comic... unfortunately I couldn't find any examples through Google of what I mean by "bad" :p

Why yes, I do read comics. In fact, while I'm no expert, I did teach a class on Marvel comics last semester and can give a fair amount of recommendations. Honestly, there are a million places to start, so I'll just start with DC.

Don't read the New 52. All of them besides Aquaman and Wonder Woman suck. Badly.

Do look into one-off and such arcs. My favorites of these are things like All Star Superman (seriously one of the best comics ever), Superman: Red Son, just about everything with Year One in the title (though Batman and Green Arrow especially), Kingdom Come (another great one), and others that'll help you get into the characters more.

Once you have a good feel for the characters, I recommend arcs such as Identity Crisis and Infinite Crisis. Besides those two, if it has "Crisis" in the name stay away from it.

Also, since he's one of my favorite characters, I would recommend Booster Gold: Blue and Gold, which was amazing but confusing if you don't know DC very well.

As for Marvel, well... that's a lot trickier. So I'll save that for later.